Rugby - Rules Print
Written by Administrator   
Saturday, 06 January 2007 23:51

Rugby - Rules

A rugby tackle  Rugby - Rules
The ball is touched down over the opponent's goal-line

At the 15th Asian Games, Rugby Sevens matches will consist of two halves of seven minutes with a break of one minute between each half.

Teams earn 5 points for a try, 2 for a conversion and 3 for a penalty kick.

Teams will be allowed to field seven players, with three substitutes allowed during each match. Eight teams will be divided into two groups in accordance with the International Rugby Board (IRB) and the Asian Rugby Football Union (ARFU).

Teams will play each other once, with the top two teams from each group making the semi-finals. Teams receive 3 points for a win, 1 point for a draw and zero points for a loss.

In the medals matches, if a draw occurs extra time will be played until a winner is determined. The first team to score points in the two 5-minute extra time periods will be declared the winner.

Rugby - Animation

Need to know more about rucks, mauls, scrums and the rules of rugby sevens? This contact sport is a must-see. Tackle the detail and avoid being thrown a dummy about this exciting event by entering our animation and following the links.