Home Sports All Sport Rules Artistic Gymnastics

MSN Random Online

Artistic Gymnastics PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Tuesday, 02 January 2007 00:56

Artistic Gymnastics - Rules

Male athlete doing floor exercise
Judges rank gymnastic performances by points

Gymnastics competitions at the 15th Asian Games Doha 2006 will be organised in accordance with the International Federation of Gymnastics (FIG) rules and regulations. All competitors must be at least 16 years old.

Women compete on four apparatus: the vault, uneven bars, balance beam and floor. Men compete on six apparatus: the floor, pommel horse, rings, vault, parallel bars and horizontal bar.

From 2006 onwards the scoring system will be a Code of Points, replacing the Start Value system with open-ended scoring.

Two different panels will judge every routine, evaluating different aspects of the performance. The highest and lowest marks are disregarded before an average is awarded to the competitor.

There are three competitions for men and women; team, individual apparatus and all-around finals. Teams may consist of four to six gymnasts and their four highest scores from each apparatus are taken into account for the team total.

Only gymnasts who perform on all the apparatus are eligible to qualify for the all-around finals; 24 gymnasts from the first phase can take part in the individual events, with a maximum of two competitors per country or region.

To qualify for the vault finals, two vaults are necessary. These are then averaged for a qualifying score but for the all-around and team ranking only the first vault score counts.

Artistic Gymnastics - Animation

Gymnasts are among the fittest, strongest and most flexible people in the world. They inspire great awe with their skills on extremely challenging equipment. Take a closer look at the apparatus used by both men and women in our animation.


Last Updated on Tuesday, 02 January 2007 00:57

Top Members

No top members yet.